I am a Weakling.

It I am a Weakling.probably started at a baseball game. Now, I’m not a big baseball fan, but when my mom asked whether my wife and I would like to join her at a Whitecaps game with her work, Cornerstone College, we came along. It was a good family outing.

As it happened, we sat next to the then-president of the college and his wife, with whom I struck up a conversation. I told her that I worked in the music department at a bookstore and she told me that her son, Andrew, was a musician who was moving back to the area and that he’d be looking for a music-related job. I promised her that I’d give him a call and try to connect him with something.

As promised, I called him. But rather than be all that helpful, I told him that Grand Rapids didn’t have a big recording industry and he’d be better off moving to somewhere like Nashville, the hub of all things music. He didn’t listen and moved to Grand Rapids anyway.

A month or two later, Andrew applied at the bookstore where I work. Remembering his name, and the promise to his mom that I’d try to help him find a job, I encouraged the management to give him a chance. He would have gotten the job anyway, but I like to take as much credit for other people’s accomplishments as possible.

We hit it off. Two weeks after he was hired, I asked him to help my wife and I move out of our apartment. Here’s a bit of truth for you: There is no better way to cement a friendship than to ask them to help you move. Andrew and his wife, Kristen, came over as strangers, but within a couple hours of seeing and packing our belongings, lifting heavy boxes, and maneuvering awkward pieces of furniture up stairs backwards, they emerged as friends.

While moving, we talked about our interests, and one of them was writing. Andrew mentioned that he and a guy named Bob were meeting for Bible study once every couple weeks and that he enjoyed writing as well. I was invited to Bible study and the three of us agreed that we should meet again solely to talk about our writing. Along the way, Bob ran into a guy named Matt, a writer friend from college, and invited him to the meeting.

The night we met, the Weaklings were born. Taking inspiration from the famous writers’ group, the Inklings, which included C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien, we formed our own writer’s group, the Weaklings. Matt had been part of the a few writers’ groups over the years and lent his experience and some structure to our meetings.

The early meeting ran along these lines: grab some refreshments – 5 minutes; chat about life – 10 minutes; read something we wrote since the last meeting – 5 minutes each; discuss what was read – 10 minutes each; discuss any writing challenges or goals – 10 minutes; schedule next meeting & leave.

We met at least once every two weeks, usually on the opposite week from Bible study. Inevitably, Andrew and I would discuss writing a lot at the bookstore where we worked (and continued to move furniture together). That encouragement and accountability helped make writing part of my routine.

Since those early days, Matt has  moved to the other side of the state, Bob has two kids, Andrew has one, and I have one with another on the way, but we all still make time for writing. And we all continue to encourage each other.

There is power in writers’ groups, and I am proud to say that I am a Weakling.

13 responses to “I am a Weakling.

  1. Josh – Thanks for writing this post! It’s good for me to read the Weaklings’ story and remember how it all began. It makes me miss the days we worked together and could talk about random things at any given time.
    Write strong, brother!
    -Andy

    PS – To the rest of you: Josh is right, there is no better way to cement a friendship than to move stuff together. Josh even helped me move a piano up three flights of stairs once. But that’s a story for another time…

  2. Pingback: My Journey As A Writer « Part Time Novel·

  3. Pingback: Lego Inspiration for Writers | Josh Mosey | Writer·

  4. Pingback: Fascination….. | The View Outside·

  5. Pingback: A Monty Python Fan’s View of Writing in Groups | Josh Mosey | Writer·

  6. Pingback: Three Benefits of Writing to a Schedule « Part Time Novel·

  7. Pingback: Why I Love the 3-Day Novel Contest (and Why I’ll do it again next year) « Tell Better Stories·

  8. Pingback: I am Proud to be a Weakling | Josh Mosey | Writer·

  9. Pingback: Some thoughts on JOT: The GR Writers Mini-Conference « Tell Better Stories·

  10. Pingback: The Value of Writing in Groups | Josh Mosey | Writer·

  11. Pingback: Writing in Community | Josh Mosey | Writer·

  12. Pingback: Norse Mythology, Inklings, and Encouragement | Josh Mosey | Writer·

Leave a Reply

