Two Days or Less

In two days or less, my wife and I will be officially adding one to the number of people who occupy rooms in our household.

We are obviously very excited, but in any crunch time you also think of the things that you are not going to accomplish before the main event happens.

For instance, in the next two days, I’m not going to finish my WIP, which means that I’ll need to find (make) time to work on my novel once we have two little mouths to feed and four little hands to keep from harassing the dog.

I’m not going to build the cool book lamps that I thought about building in the next two days.

I’m not going to design and build the toy chest that my oldest daughter needs. Her toys are everywhere, just everywhere. Not that having a toy chest would help much because she likes her toys to be everywhere anyway. I’m just saying, it isn’t going to happen.

I may not even get a chance to finish writing out my thoughts on my friend’s manuscript even though I’ve had if for months (sorry Bob).

Knowing that certain things are not going to be done on my schedule can cause me to act in one of two ways. Either I can freak out and try to accomplish all of my wants or I can accept the disparity and try to plan how I will accomplish them in light of my future additional responsibilities.

Yesterday, I wrote about how I’ve felt grown-up ever since I got married, but I realize that I still have room to mature. I think accepting my limitations and planning accordingly is part of that process.

4 responses to “Two Days or Less

  1. Josh, I forgive you! Good post. I am sure you will find time to battle on. Besides, after month or so, I will need my writing friend back or I will fail. I’ll do my best to badger you as infrequently as possible.

  2. Very exciting. The baby will make up for all the things you haven’t yet done. ; ) And before you know it, you’ll be back at it, if only because the next few months will be a blur.

    • There is a blessing in the grey haze that fogs our memories from the horrors of too little sleep and too much to do. The new baby is definitely worth it all, and I wouldn’t change a thing, but I am looking forward to the months to come when sleep will come in longer than 3 hours spans. Thanks for the comment!

  3. Now that our kids are 9 and almost 7, we look back on those days and wonder how we survived. It really is as hard as you think it is. Don’t listen to those old people in the grocery store when they tell you every minute is precious and you need to cherish every second. Their memories are only remembering the good stuff. 🙂

    You will survive! It will get so much easier! But you won’t be building those lamps for YEARS, Mosey. Maybe just buy them someplace.

Leave a Reply

