10 Favorite Books to Read to Kids

As the day of my next daughter’s birth is imminent (in fact, since I am scheduling my posts a few days in advance to be prepared, it may already have happened), I thought I would put together a list of the books that my wife and I read to our kids.

According to the National Education Association, kids who are read to at home perform better in school. In fact, there are about a billion studies out there that say roughly the same thing.

But even if reading to my daughters won’t do a thing for them scholastically, it is a wonderful way to spend time together and there are few things cuter than when a little girl grabs a blanket and a book and wants to climb into your lap for story-time.

So, here are a few favorites from my wife and I:

Little Blue Truck by Alice Schertle, Illustrated by Jill McElmurry

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom by Bill Martin Jr. and John Archambault, Illustrated by Lois Ehlert

I Love You Through and Through by Bernadette Rossetti-Shustak, Illustrated by Carline Jayne Church

The Complete Tales of Winnie-the-Pooh by A. A. Milne, Illustrated by Ernest H. Shepard

The Complete Adventures of Curious George by Margret and H. A. Rey

Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You? by Dr. Seuss (This one is fun to speed read.)

The Foot Book by Dr. Seuss

Click, Clack, Moo by Doreen Cronin, Illustrated by Betsy Lewin

Leonardo, The Terrible Monster by Mo Willems

Sidney & Norman: A Tale of Two Pigs by Phil Vischer, Illustrated by Justin Gerard

Of course, when my oldest daughter was still waking up for feedings every few hours, I would read whatever book I was reading at the time to her to get her back to sleep, which meant that I may have exposed her to a bit of Orwell’s 1984 at an impressionable age. Still waiting to see if there are any lasting effects.

Do any of you readers have a favorite that was read to you or that you read to your kids?

3 responses to “10 Favorite Books to Read to Kids

  1. My all time favorite, Little Golden Egg Book. Josh, I can’t believe it wasn’t on your list. I still have the copy from my 1980’s purchase.

  2. One of my favorites is “The Country Bunny with the Little Gold Shoes.” It’s a feminist-type book, really, written in maybe the 1930s? The country bunny has lots of baby bunnies and takes care of the house, but when she decides to audition for the role of one of the five Easter Bunnies, the strong male bunnies and affluent types laugh at her. Guess what? She becomes an Easter Bunny. Classic.

    Also, my husband and I still quote “The Sneetches” by Dr. Seuss… when we see prejudice. “I guess they don’t have stars upon thars” we say. ; )

Leave a Reply

