Blogging Resolutions for 2013

488px-Francisco_de_Goya_y_Lucientes_-_Gaspar_Melchor_de_JovellanosI’m not usually good with resolutions. I struggle with the “resolute” part of them. I’m much better with “vague notions that aren’t measurable but sound like good things to shoot for”, but that isn’t a thing. So here go the resolutions for 2013.

Who knows? Maybe I’ll surprise myself and actually stick with them.

  • Blog consistently. I plan to stick with my schedule of at least one post per weekday. In this way, I’ll keep honing my writing voice through sheer volume of words written.
  • More book reviews. I started this blog with a goal of writing a book review a week. That didn’t last long. It was an ambitious goal and probably not all that realistic. I think I’ll consider this resolution fulfilled if I can do two reviews per month.
  • flash_fiction_challenge_250x250More flash fiction challenges. I really enjoy writing flash fiction and would like to encourage the practice in my writing friends. Taking a page from Julia’s Place, I would like to consistently offer a challenge along a specified time frame, so people know when to expect a prompt.
  • More author interviews. I love books, and I am trying to become an author. I have a feeling that the people who read my blog are fond of books as well and wouldn’t mind a good interview with the authors of those books. This will also help my blog be a source for people to discover books and authors that they may have been unfamiliar with before. Everyone wins.

I think I’ll cut it off there. I have a few more vague notions, but it would be best to leave them for now. Do you have suggestions to help me in my resolutions? Do you think I am missing any resolutions for my blog? I’d love to hear it! Please leave me a comment below.

5 responses to “Blogging Resolutions for 2013

  1. Your stated “goals” only revolve around your blog. What about your family close& extended? I.e. couples time , kid time What about your personal walk w Christ? Periodic or daily time of worship, devotion, prayer? What about church & or civic service & efforts. Maybe it’s because I’m just learning to blog, maybe it’s because I have learned to think globally as well as linearly. Maybe this are areas you are not comfortable blogging or making open commitments regarding. Just asking….

    • As with everything else in life, it is best to approach blogging with a plan. I started my blog (https://joshmosey.wordpress.com/2012/04/16/hello-world/) as a way to practice writing, as a help to my platform, and as a way to introduce the characters from my fiction works. Since then, my posts have drifted to include some autobiographical information.

      But I always ask myself these questions before I click publish: Would a potential reader be interested in this story? Would this post help or hurt my chances of getting published? Does this post fit my niche of the publishing world?

      When I wrote out my resolutions, I decided to focus on blogging because that is what I think people will be interested in reading. It also clearly defines what people can expect of me from my blog. I could have talked about any one of the topics you mentioned (as they are all very important to me), but I wanted to keep my post focused. One of my favorite authors, Kurt Vonnegut, once gave 8 rules for short story writing, the 7th of which was “Write to please just one person. If you open a window and make love to the world, so to speak, your story will get pneumonia.” I apply this to blogging as well. If I drift too far from what readers will want, no matter how interesting or important I find it, it won’t help my blog.

      For a few other tips about blogging, my friend Bob Evenhouse wrote a great post called Blogging 101. Check it out (http://parttimenovel.wordpress.com/2012/07/30/blogging-101-maintaining-readership/)

  2. Josh, Good resolutions, all. I do enjoy your more autobiographical posts… and I think as writers, posts about ourselves can help us write more clearly and also suss out our themes and general concepts (which helps with our fiction writing).

  3. Pingback: Flash Fiction Challenge | Under the Weather | Josh Mosey | Writer·

  4. Pingback: SMART Goals for the New Year | Josh Mosey | Writer·

Leave a Reply

