Ask Josh | How Do I Tie My Shoes So They Stay Tied?

ask_josh

A while back, I shared how I learned the correct way to tie my shoes in college, thanks to one of the core classes for my chosen major in Recreation. I got this comment from my friend, Jessie Clemence:

I am sending you a seven-year old and his shoes, which he refuses to tie. He’ll be on the afternoon bus. Thank you in advance.

No need to send your kid to me Jessie! Just have him watch this video and he’ll be tying his shoes like an expert in no time.

Now, if you have a question you want answered, leave it in the comments and I’ll do my best to help you out. Thanks for reading!

4 responses to “Ask Josh | How Do I Tie My Shoes So They Stay Tied?

  1. However many months later, and this is still a DAILY battle in our house. I will have him watch the video and practice after school. But if he doesn’t get it…you can teach him tomorrow at the store. 🙂

  2. 1. Great job. One comment though – many children these days are taught the highly unreliable but quick bunny ear method. Thus they do not have the muscle memory to which you refer. I’m not certain but I believe bunny ears make only a simple single knot.
    2. This is also the correct way to tie hair ribbons, dress sashes, and formal (aka*real*) men’s bow ties. As the girls grow up knowing the correct way will save hours of frustration.
    3. This method does work with left ganders but you hold the left straight and loop behind the right side. I know – I am one. Luckily for me you’re grandpa Mosey knew the right way because when your grandma couldn’t get me to understand. 1 time with your grandpa & it’s a done deal!

  3. Pingback: Another story about Erin and Pablo Farias | Josh Mosey | Writer·

Leave a Reply

