100 Word Challenge | Only Fifteen More & Despite the Pounding in My Head

The following story combines the prompts from my own challenge and that of Julia’s Place. Hope you enjoy!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

She had been gone a year, but it felt like more. Time moves slower behind bars.

Ironically, it was bars that landed me here in the first place. On the night of Isabel’s disappearance, I was too drunk to drive. Too drunk to remember driving anyway.

I woke up to blood and bile. The dent in my forehead matching the one in my front bumper. But the sound was the worst part. Despite the pounding in my head, she was louder.

“This is the last straw!” she screamed, and then she vanished.

Only fifteen more years until I can start looking. To find her and apologize.

3 responses to “100 Word Challenge | Only Fifteen More & Despite the Pounding in My Head

Leave a Reply

