I am asking you to help a friend of mine.

When I first met Erin, I didn’t like her. It wasn’t that we didn’t hit it off, although we didn’t. It was more true that everything about her grated on my nerves. She was loud. She had a short attention span. She was more interested in everything and everyone else than the things I was trying to train her to do.

Erin was hired into Baker Book House when I was the store’s trainer. It must have been my somewhere around 2005, because I remember coming home to my wife and spouting off about how much Erin annoyed me. Perhaps because we had been married for less than a year, my wife had never seen me speak badly about someone like I did about Erin. So after I ran out of steam, my wife calmly stated something truly offensive.

“Maybe you don’t like her because you are too much like her,” she said.

I was aghast.

“What?!” I said.

“I think some people might see you as loud, with a short attention span, and more focused on people than the task at hand.”

“But…”

I had nothing. She was right.

“Maybe you should just try being nice to her,” said my beautiful and wise wife, DeAnne. “You’d probably like her more.”

“Okay,” I said.

And I tried. And I did like her more. All of Erin’s eccentricities started to grow on me. Before long, she was one of my favorite co-workers. Once I let go of the things that I allowed to bother me, I saw Erin’s sense of humor and how she put a smile on everyone’s face.

farias_familyNext thing I knew, Erin was moving on from Baker Book House. She got married and opened a daycare which she ran out of her home, and in time, started her own family. Erin Farias and her husband, Pablo, just had twins a couple months ago.

And then on Saturday night, April 7th, 2013, their house (and daycare and van) burnt down. Erin and her family all made it out safely, but the house and all that was inside was lost completely.

So I’m asking for your help. Please consider praying for Erin and contributing to her family in some way. For some practical ways to help, please read this excellent article by my friend, Alison Hodgson, who also lost her home to a fire some time back. She has some great practical things that people can do for those in Erin’s situation.

548288_196248677165513_112464352_nAfter you read that, please check out the website that Erin’s brother-in-law set up with more information about the fire and a link to a Paypal account to help her here. And if you are on Facebook, consider joining this group.

Thank you.

And Erin, if you read this, DeAnne and I are praying for you. We are sorry for your loss.

8 responses to “I am asking you to help a friend of mine.

  1. Josh, I am the admin at the FB site and a close friend of Erin’s. I would like to post the article your friend wrote on the page. I assume that is ok! Please let me know if it is not.

  2. Josh another thing to do which a friend of ours told us (after they lost their home to fire) was that a friend from their church sent out requests to friends & family to help them rebuild some of the pictures they had lost of their children. Resetting milestones from shared photos and returning them to the family did a lot to help our friends and their children. Listening to the children tell their side of the story was very important as well. They will be in my prayers & I will also put them on the churches prayer list for widsdom strength & courage. Ps posting need clothes sizes saves a lot of sorting.

  3. Pingback: Another story about Erin and Pablo Farias | Josh Mosey | Writer·

  4. You’re the second person I’ve heard their story from. A neighbor of mine is friends with them as well. Thanks for posting the link to their site and FB. The Rhodes crew will help!

Leave a Reply

