Another story about Erin and Pablo Farias

Shortly after she married, Erin invited my wife and I over to their apartment for dinner and a movie. Erin was kind enough to draw me some directions on how to get to their place, which was supposed to be very close to my home. But after 20 minutes of driving, trying to follow Erin’s directions, we had to call and have Pablo guide us in. We learned that night how terrible Erin is at drawing maps.

We also learned that night how wonderful Erin is at making pies. Oh my goodness. I’ve never had as good a pie crust as we had that night.

But I digress. At dinner, we all got to know each other a bit better. Erin I knew from work, but neither my wife or I knew Pablo all that well, aside from the things that Erin shared. What we knew from Erin was that Pablo was a musician and that his grasp of English left a little to be desired, though that always led to humorous “Pablo-isms”. Conversation turned to our schooling, and I told Pablo how I went to WMU and graduated with a degree in Recreation. I shared how I learned how to juggle and tie knots, but also how to manage people in a municipal parks and recreation setting.

The next day, Erin told me that after we left, Pablo couldn’t stop laughing because he thought I went to Clown College. I’d like to say that there was something lost in translation, but I can definitely see how he came to his conclusion given our conversation.

548288_196248677165513_112464352_nIf you haven’t had a chance to read yesterday’s post, please do. Erin and Pablo just lost everything they own in a house fire, and with twin babies under two months old, they could use some help.

For more details about what they need, please visit http://littlesmilesfund.org/. Thanks!

One response to “Another story about Erin and Pablo Farias

  1. Pingback: Shoe on the Other Foot | Josh Mosey | Writer·

Leave a Reply

