I am a Pog Collector

I didn’t realize that I still had them. But as my wife and I went through the things in the basement, deciding what would be given to Goodwill and what would be going to the dump, I came across as small red bag, filled with cardboard discs and a brass slammer.

Memories flooded back. In middle school, but about two weeks, possibly a month, Pogs were the biggest thing in the world. For those who don’t remember, Pogs are a cross between baseball collecting and a game of jacks. You and your opponent place your Pogs into a stack, then take turns dropping/throwing your slammer on the top of the stack. Those Pogs that flip over are your to keep.

And so the risk of playing Pogs is losing them. And the fun of playing Pogs is winning them. I never had much fun playing Pogs, because I hated losing them. And I never played enough to get good at winning them because I was afraid to lose the ones that I had left. I preferred safety to risk.

dc_comics_pogsIn my defense, I had some pretty sweet Pogs. You see, my dad sold them for a time in his hobby shop, so I got my pick of the good ones. My collection consists primarily of DC Comics Pogs. I have Robin, Hawkman, Deathstroke, Black Lightning, Superboy. I have Aquaman, John Stewart, The Joker, Metamorpho, and Lex Luthor. I even have Mr. Mxyzptlk, Lobo, and Shazam. The only one that I don’t have (that I wanted) is Batman.

Of course, I had some average Pogs as well. I have a number of Goosebumps Pogs (Copyright 1995) that came free in boxes of Honey Nut Cheerios. And I have a few stinkers like a sun wearing sunglasses pitching local grocery store D&W and a buoy for some reason.

The point is that I learned at a young age that I’m not much of a gambler. I never wanted to risk much in order to get better as a Pog player. And in the case of Pogs, this was fine, because by the time I had gotten good at Pogs, the fad would have been over and my skill would have been wasted. But the truth is the same.

I prefer safety.

And so, after finding them, you might be wondering whether they went to the dump or to Goodwill. The answer is…

Neither. It’s a fine collection of Pogs. If I wasn’t going to get rid of it in middle school, I’m not going to get rid of them now. Maybe I’ll finally find the missing Batman Pog and my collection will be complete.

16 responses to “I am a Pog Collector

  1. Your uncle Mark has a collection of Pogs as well. He is a risk taker. However I have never been able to get him to tell me if his collection is contraband (from kids sneaking a game during class) or if he actually spent money on then. His are in a tube not stack. Maybe I’ll get him to check for your missing Batman. Then I hope the rest to goodwill for some other collector. BTW – I’m keeping my original 100% cloth cabbage patch w certificate & clothes.

      • I have an odd request…I am in a scavenger hunt and need a picture of pogs with a slammer and a hand written sign next to them that says “BFADS.net 2013”. Would you possibly consider helpng me out with this please, I can’t find my sons old pogs anywhere! I would greatly appreciate it! Thanks for even considering

  2. I have an opened pog set of the OJ Simpson Trial I also have a couple of slammers from the same trial. Are these worth anything/

    • To be honest, I have no idea. I was surprised that I still had pogs in my basement. I’m not an authority on the subject. Perhaps eBay knows.

  3. Hi, I have a whole binder of holographic pog’s. If anyone is interested in buying shoot me a email and I will get back to or if anyone knows were I can get them checked out to fine the value of them That would be highly appreciated too. I also have lot of super hero pog’s.
    Thank you

  4. I have a collection of 236 pogs if you are interested in expanding your collection. please call me at (352) 489-0170.

Leave a Reply

