Apparent to a Parent: What I’ve Realized About My Childhood From My Children

They heard me. Every time I cried out in the middle of the night. Every “Mom!” and “Dad!”. They heard.

But they didn’t come.

Because they were waiting to see if I would calm done and go back to sleep without their intervention. They didn’t want to get out of bed if they didn’t have to.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * ** * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Half the time they were acting upset with me, they were holding back laughter.

Sure, I was being naughty. But I was also hilarious.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * ** * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Trips took twenty times longer when I came along.

Doing anything with children is difficult. There are so many extra things to remember. They wander off when they should be following. Their short legs only know toddler pace which is slower than a traffic jam.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * ** * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

What things have you realized about your childhood in light of your children?

One response to “Apparent to a Parent: What I’ve Realized About My Childhood From My Children

  1. I realized that even when I thought I was playing alone, all those crazy imaginary scenarios running through my brain, someone was always watching over me and getting a good laugh. And probably a lot of the neighbors as well.

Leave a Reply

