The Elliptical Path to Success

DSC01189My wife and I bought an elliptical workout machine last weekend. We’ve been looking at them for a while, but only recently found one in our price range. Retrieving it was quite a workout in itself, as it was in a basement with a low ceiling and tight hallways. But now, it sits in our living room (the only place in our house where it would fit), just waiting for its next victim to cover in sweat.

Before we bought it, DeAnne expressed some  concerns about whether we would actually use it or not. She had a good point. Why waste money on a piece of exercise equipment that we will never use (as anything other than a coat rack)? And it isn’t a small machine. Owning it would mean moving things around in our smallish house AND having to use it.

A few years ago, I might not have been so confident about our commitment working out and being healthy. And even now, I might not be so sure but for the success that we’ve already had over the last couple months. My wife is back down to pre-pregnancy weight and I’m within five pounds of two hundred (not my goal, but a milestone nonetheless), all without having any exercise equipment in the house.

But that isn’t the only thing that gives me confidence. I’ve never been one to stick with a project. My four or five unfinished novels bear me out in this. But my blog says otherwise. I’ve been posting every weekday (and I just started Saturday posts) for over a year now, a feat that I would have believed impossible not long ago. Of course, this has only been possible because I have the support of my wonderful wife, not to mention a great writers’ group that spurs me on.

And so, why couldn’t I apply the same determination to working out?

And what more fitting piece of equipment could there be but an elliptical? Why is it fitting? Because although the exercise machine is named for the path made by the part on which you stand, the word “elliptical” comes from the Greek word ” elleiptikos”, which means defective, or a falling short, like an imperfect circle. So even if I struggle on my path to perseverance, even if I feel defective or that I’ve fallen short, I know that I’m not perfect but I have a great support team to help me get back on track.

P.S. – I worked out last night and the machine kicked my butt. But already, I’m looking forward to the next workout session.

2 responses to “The Elliptical Path to Success

  1. I have a cross trainer in my bedroom which occasionally I clear all the clothes off and use for a few days before it disappears alone with my good intentions beneath layers of clothing

    • Isn’t it funny how clothing is magnetized toward exercise equipment? Oh well. At least you clear yours off every now and again. Good job on that anyway.

Leave a Reply

