I am sweaty.

These are my smelly work out sneakers. You can tell that I'm serious about working out because I spend the big bucks on name brands like Pro Spirit.

These are my smelly work out sneakers. You can tell that I’m serious about working out because I spend the big bucks on name brands like Pro Spirit.

That’s probably the least attractive title I’ve ever given a post, so I’m sure my readership will be down today. Oh well.

I want to talk for a moment about perseverance.

The elliptical exercise machine that my wife and I bought a few weeks ago has been seeing regular use. Sure, we are still in the honeymoon phase of working out, but I believe that we are going to stick with it. Why am I so sure?

Because we’ve already been faced with not wanting to work out, but doing it anyway.

A couple of nights ago, my wife and I had a conversation that went something like this:

DeAnne – “I know I got my work out shoes on, but now I’m not sure I really want to work out.”

Me – “You already have your shoes on, you should do it.”

DeAnne – “How much longer are you going to write. Because if it’s going to be a long time, and I work out, then you work out after me, it’ll be really late when we get to bed after showers and stuff.”

Me – “Do it. I’m almost done with my post.”

DeAnne – “Fine.”

And then the night after, the situation was reversed.

Me – “Are you sure we should work out? I don’t want you to push yourself too hard if you think you are coming down with a cold or something.

DeAnne – “I’m fine. I’m going to work out. You don’t have to if you don’t want to.”

Me – “No, if you are going to, I’m going to too. But if you don’t feel well…”

DeAnne – “I feel fine. I’m going to work out.”

Me – “Fine. I will too, I guess.”

And so we both worked out, both nights, even though at least one of us didn’t want to on a given night. We persevered.

Perseverance is always easier when done in groups. There’s accountability there. When you are alone in your commitment, you have only your resolve to fall back on, but when you have committed to someone else in addition to yourself, you have twice the resolve. This is as true in working out as it is in writing or any other activity that requires commitment.

If you have trouble with following through on your goals, considering adding someone else to your team. I think you’ll find your goals much more attainable when you are working another person to achieve them.

PS – Harry Potter fans, did you know that the word “perseverance” has its Latin roots in “per” which means very and “severus” which means strict. Does that remind you of any Hogwarts teachers?

Well played J. K. Rowling.

Well played.

2 responses to “I am sweaty.

Leave a Reply

