The Books I Haven’t Read

photo credit: Andrew Bannecker

photo credit: Andrew Bannecker

NPR just posted a list of 100 books that are perfect for kids aged 9 to 14. While I no longer qualify to be in that group, I do love the books that are aimed there. And so I was a bit disappointed by the number of books on this list that I have not read.

The books are I have read on the list are:

  • To Kill a Mockingbird
  • The Redwall series
  • The Complete Tales of Winnie-The-Pooh
  • Charlotte’s Web
  • The Graveyard Book
  • Harry Potter: The Complete Series
  • Sarah, Plain and Tall
  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland
  • The Wee Free Men
  • The Hobbit
  • Diary of a Wimpy Kid series
  • The Invention of Hugo Cabret
  • A Wrinkle in Time series

But that is only 13 out of the 100 that they listed. And these books are ones that I remember really enjoying.

So I think I’m missing out on the rest. There needs to be more time in the day for just reading. Less work, more reading.

Anyway, that’s what I think.

How many books on the list have you read? What books do you think are missing from the list?

14 responses to “The Books I Haven’t Read

  1. Surprisingly, I’ve only read 26. I thought it would be more. Although, I was in the lowest reading group in elementary school…

    This is great, though. More books for me to read with my kids!

    • I agree. I know that I’ve read Mr. Popper’s Penguins before, but as I was in second grade at the time, I don’t remember a thing about the story. Thanks for sharing!

  2. My daughter is almost 9, and I’m surprised at how many she has already read/is currently reading on that list. So as a Dad to girls, you’ll want to read the Little House Series, the Ramona Series (those 2 series her favorites so far), the Ann of Green Gables series, and Little Women. Tales of a 4th grade nothing was one of her favorites, as was Bunnicula. This list encourages me that her teachers (and I) are pointing her in the right direction!

    • I seriously feel like others will look at my 13 out of 100 and assume that I don’t know how to read. Maybe you and I should start a reading club where adults read children’s books.

  3. There were some obviously missing ones, in my mind. What about A Wrinkle in Time? The Indian in the Cupboard? The Trumpet of the Swan? But several were ones I’ve read dozens of times, including my all-time favorite Watership Down, plus Island of the Blue Dolphins, The Witch of Blackbird Pond, the Anne of Green Gables series, and the Little House series.

  4. I’ve read only 22 surprisingly. However some that count as 1 are entire series on their list. (ie. Chronicles of Narnia or Harry Potter). Have you mentioned this to your cousin Joy who just happens to have people in her house who might benefit from this info?? (The list, not necessarily those you have or have not read – though that may also be useful.)

  5. I got to 31 and just seeing some of these titles made me want to laugh, cry, groan, and enjoy them all over again! There’s a ton of good classics I should pull back out, and I’m also feeling the pull to read the rest. People with my need to cross things off lists should never be exposed to something like this…

Leave a Reply

