I am not for trite weight-loss quips, even when they’re true.

“Nothing tastes as good as skinny feels.”

I’ve heard that saying thrown around before, but I’ve never bought into it. After all, I’ve eaten some really good things. Mouth-watering steaks and saucy buffalo wings come to mind. Anyway, I’ve always thought the saying was a bit off.

Now, I’m not going to claim to be skinny yet. Not by a long stretch. But I am eating less, eating healthier and I’ve been losing a pound or two a week for long enough that my pants don’t fit right anymore.

redrobinlogoWith my birthday just around the corner, restaurants are falling over themselves in sending me special birthday deals (because I signed up for their email specials list, not because I am just that awesome (even if my wife thinks I am)). So last Friday, my wife and I took the girls to Red Robin.

top_burgerThe Red Robin claim to fame is probably their never-ending steak fries, so we started with an order of fries as an appetizer. I followed it up with a juicy bacon and onion straw burger with still more fries and washed it all down with their delicious strawberry lemonades (free refills on these too!). Of course, since we were out celebrating my birthday, Red Robin gave me a free ice cream sundae which I shared with my wife and daughters.

As I waddled to the exit, I felt more than full; I felt downright gross. Dinner tasted really good, but I had way too much of it. I could have eaten half of my burger and small order of fries that came with it, skipped the dessert altogether and drank water instead of lemonade, but I didn’t. Frankly, what is the point of going to a non-stop french fry restaurant if you aren’t going to gorge yourself with potato products?

But after feeling so gross that night, I’m starting to rethink my approach to eating out (and eating in general). Since my wife and I have started encouraging each other to eat and act healthier, I’ve noticed a change in how I feel, both physically and mentally.

And while all that may be true, I still hate the saying, “Nothing tastes as good as skinny feels.” It should probably be changed to something like, “Eating a lot of anything, no matter how good it tastes, will make you feel super gross.” Maybe, “Gorging leads to regret.”

What is your least favorite quip?

2 responses to “I am not for trite weight-loss quips, even when they’re true.

  1. Apparently, that quote is attributed to Kate Moss. Not necessarily the best example of healthy eating, as far as I know. So, yeah. I hate that quote, too. Chocolate is pretty awesome.

  2. I hate “haste makes waste.” I’ve hurried through many a project and it turned out just fine. Who has the time for details, or directions, or measuring? Super dumb.

Leave a Reply

