On the Topic of Nipples

There are no safe pictures to post when discussing the topic of nipples. Instead, these are San Francisco's Twin Peaks. Close enough.

There are no safe pictures to post when discussing the topic of nipples. Instead, these are San Francisco’s Twin Peaks. Close enough.

I see no reason to lie to my children about the names of body parts. So when my OD (oldest daughter) pointed to my chest and asked what the red circles were, I told her.

There are plenty of words out there that I don’t say around my kids because some things just don’t sound right coming out of a toddler’s mouth. But I never considered the ramifications of the “nipple” word.

My daughter was at my in-laws house when my wife’s sister was visiting. Auntie had just finished a workout when the OD started asking questions.

“Auntie’s tummy is sweaty?”

“Yes, Bugaboo.”

“Auntie’s skin is sweaty?”

“That too.”

“Auntie’s nipples are sweaty?”

“Umm.”

That’s when we had to have a chat about how, even though everyone has them, nipples aren’t something we talk about. We’ve had to remind her to cool it a few times as the subject seems to keep popping up (pun intended).

Though, I’m thankful that her problem word is only “nipple.” At her age, due to a babysitter that I stopped seeing shortly after, I kept dropping the “GD” bomb.

Ah, kids.

One response to “On the Topic of Nipples

  1. There is a Mickey Mouse garden gnome in one of our neighbors front law. The girls are always excited to see it.

    So one day I said, “I can see Mickey Mouse!”

    “Me too!” yelled my oldest.
    “I can see his head,” I said.
    “I can see his nipples!” she replied.

Leave a Reply

