My subconscious is more creative than me.

This past week, I had a very cinematic dream.

Like this, but not.

Like this, but not.

I had been pulled through a vortex into an alternate dimension. Upon arrival, someone told me that the only difference between the alternate dimension and my own was my existence (similar to It’s a Wonderful Life), but I started noticing changes that had to predate my birth. Like, dinosaurs were still around. I don’t think that had anything to do with me. I came to realize that the person responsible for creating the vortex was somehow manipulating time to make things like the extinction of the dinosaurs a thing of the past.Also in the dream, I was staying with my wife’s family, but since I didn’t previously exist in the alternate dimension, my wife was not my wife… yet. The problem was that I wasn’t sure whether I should try to woo her or try to return to my original reality where my real wife was waiting for me. I remember that the window of opportunity on a return to my reality was rapidly closing, but I don’t remember why.And the really fun thing about the dream was that, because I was in an alternate reality, my mind had to create alternate versions of everyday things. For example, I saw a Sony Playstation in my dream that wasn’t square, it was bulbous. And the dinosaurs that I saw weren’t any that I recognized from Jurassic Park. It was what dinosaurs might have looked like had they continued to evolve into large reptiles instead of small birds.

I never got to find out if I returned to my reality, wooed my pseudo-wife, or thwarted the machinations of whoever opened the vortex. I woke up too soon.

One of my first waking thoughts was “Why can’t I pull out that level creativity when I’m awake?” It’s probably bad to be jealous of my sleeping self, but there are times when I’m writing where I just can’t think of what’s supposed to come next. But dreams don’t just stop because you don’t know what’s going to happen. And don’t even get me started on how it’s possible for us to be surprised by twists in our dreams when they are happening inside of our own brains.

Anyway, now I’m thinking about developing the dream into a readable story. Would you want to read that story?

4 responses to “My subconscious is more creative than me.

Leave a Reply

