The Sea Serpent and the Three Mermen

The tale below is my attempt at a fairy tale (it even uses the Rule of Three). It is also my attempt at last week’s flash photo challenge. And although it isn’t 100 words, it is 150, which is still pretty few. Anyway, enjoy!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Beyond the western edge of the world, there lived a sea serpent whose gaze turned flesh to stone.

One day, he happened upon three mermen caught up in a debate.

Said the first, “It is best to be swift, for no ill can catch me.”

Said the second, “It is best to be strong, for no ill can defeat me.”

Said the third, “It is best to attempt new skills, for no ill can predict me.”

At this, the serpent revealed himself.

The first merman swam away, but was swiftly overcome. The second merman fought, but was soundly defeated. The third merman surfaced and attempted to breathe the air.

The serpent rose before him.

“Foolish merman!” cried the serpent. “I was faster and stronger than your brothers. Do you think to defeat me with air?”

Just then, the sun emerged. The serpent saw his reflection and was turned to stone.

DSC01275

3 responses to “The Sea Serpent and the Three Mermen

  1. Very good, it sounds like a reason for continuing your education. If I use this in school, I’ll pay you a royalty.

  2. Pingback: What I hope to get out of the Breathe Conference. | Josh Mosey | Writer·

Leave a Reply

