What I got out of the Breathe Conference.

Last week, I did a post on what I hoped to get out of the Breathe Writers Conference. Here’s where I share what actually happened.

In addition to hoping the session I was to lead would go well, I hoped for new knowledge and to enjoy time with fellow wordsmiths. I am happy to report that all quests were successful. A few people who sat in on my session on Flash Fiction said they found it helpful (for those of you who asked, here is the flash handout from that session) . I got to take in some great workshops led by Erin Bartels of Baker Publishing Group (with whom I am a distant coworker) and Dave Beach of Soul Seasons (a counselor in whose basement my family took residence for a time), not to mention the inspirational keynote session with Latayne Scott.

I plan on sharing some of the educational nuggets from these sessions here on my blog over the next few days/weeks, but I don’t want you to think that just because I do so, you are free to skip next year’s Breathe Conference. For one thing, having not been there, you have no idea if I am lying about what the presenter said or not. And two, even if we sat in the same session, you might have gotten something completely different but equally valid from the presentation, so to hear only my thoughts would be robbing yourself of the opportunity to learn cool stuff first hand.

The Writers Guild

The Writers Guild

Plus, by not going you are truly missing out on that constructive interaction with a community of writers. Conferences like these are where the connections are made that lead to achieving your writing career goals. No where else do you find potential publishers, editors, agents, ghost writers, and writers group members just milling around and waiting for you to talk to them. And Breathe is a conference like no other. One can truly feel the mission of support that was started by The Guild, a Christian ladies writers group filled with credentialed writers based in Grand Rapids, only seven years ago.

I don’t mean to gush, but I will. If you were there, you would too. If you weren’t, plan on attending next year’s event.

2 responses to “What I got out of the Breathe Conference.

Leave a Reply

