The Squirrel Experiment Continues – Days 21-28

DSC01347

Experiment Day 21 – The squirrels have proven their worth. Two of my corn cobs are gone. My scientific study is paying off.

DSC01349

Placing the two additional corn cobs on the branch seemed to do the trick. Given that the squirrels still haven’t touched the original test cob, a few scenarios are possible.

DSC01350

The original cob may have been inherently undesirable (which I doubt, because they have never before turned their little squirrel noses up at free food. That makes me think that the problem was having the cobs at an accessible distance to the tree.

I’m going to leave that last cob up anyway and see if they try for it or not.

* * * * * * * * * *

This post was supposed to go live last Friday, but it didn’t. In the time between when it should have gone live and now, the squirrels have captured my final cob.

As a congratulations, I have decided to stock their original feeder with 4 large corn cobs. Hopefully, this will also smoothe over any ill will on their part for forcing them to take part in my study.

DSC01356

The conclusion of my experiment is this: I am disappointed that I did not get to see any squirrels fall off of my tree. And I can’t be sure that it wasn’t actually my neighbors (or wife) who took the cobs down one at a time to make me think that it was the squirrels. Oh well.

What should I do for my next experiment?

3 responses to “The Squirrel Experiment Continues – Days 21-28

  1. Wait! I can’t consider this study done without comments from the cute little scientists! That’s just NUTS…(this is about squirrels, right?)

  2. Plaster peanut butter on the corn cob they haven’t tried yet and see if the wonderful wafting scent makes your squirrels brave enough to shimmy down the wire holder.

Leave a Reply

