The essay that I want to write refuses to cooperate.

I shave my head so I can't pull out my hair, which I'd be doing right now if I had any.

I shave my head so I can’t pull out my hair, which I’d be doing now if I had any.

I’ve written two completely different drafts of an essay on celebrations and both of them stink. And that’s unfortunate, because writing time is valuable and I feel like I’m wasting it when I write something I don’t like. Somehow the essay in my head just isn’t making it through my fingers and onto the blank page.

Now, I’m starting to worry that my idea just isn’t strong enough. Maybe it isn’t clearly defined. Maybe my analogies need work or I need to see it from another angle. I don’t know, but it is driving me a bit nuts.

Here’s what I’m going to do. Even though the deadline is just hours away, I’m going to put it down for a while. I’m going to give myself some distance. Maybe I’ll ingest a bit of caffeine and see how that works.

What do you do when things aren’t working?

4 responses to “The essay that I want to write refuses to cooperate.

Leave a Reply

