Friend-Love

I have been incredibly fortunate throughout the years to have many good friends and a handful of close friends. I am most thankful for the fact that I am married to my best friend. Anyway, I wanted to share the following comic with you by Yumi Sakugawa.

Click the picture for the rest of the comic. It won’t take but a moment or two to read, and it’ll be worth it. More of my thoughts below.

YumiFriendLoveOne

I don’t know if you’ve felt the type of friend-love described in the comic, but I know that I have.

During my sophomore year of college, I became roommate to a guy who was vastly different from myself and all the better for it. He was unassuming, creative, and hard-working to a fault. We would stay up for hours on end, occasionally working on schoolwork, but often just talking or collaborating on interesting side-projects. Since college, we haven’t seen each other often, but when we do, we fall right back into roommate mode, without any of the awkwardness that time gaps sometimes cause.

Then, a few years back, I had a co-worker with whom I would talk about writing and marriage and life and God and whatever else. Our friendship happened fast. But then he got a different, better job and we didn’t have as much time together.

I didn’t love either of them like a spouse, but I reveled in their friendships. My time with them made me happier with myself. And when I could no longer spend as much time with them, I noticed.

Friend-love is special and worthwhile. And though rejection can be devastating, it is worth pursuing.

Do you have someone with whom you’d like to be friends? What’s holding you back?

Leave a Reply

