Man Skills (That Every Gender Would Be Better Off Knowing)

Yesterday, I wrote a brief defense of my testosterone.

9780800722296Today, I thought I’d share a bit about a related book that was just released from Jonathan Catherman through Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group. The book is The Manual to Manhood: How to Cook the Perfect Steak, Change a Tire, Impress a Girl & 97 Other Skills You Need to Survive.

One of my favorite Deep Thoughts by Jack Handy (an old SNL feature from my teenage years) said that “it takes a big man to cry, and it takes a bigger man to laugh at that first man.” I love it because it pokes fun at the stereotypes around gender roles.

At first glance, The Manual to Manhood seems to reinforce these roles. Though the target audience for this manual is male youths, the knowledge and advice within are applicable to nearly everyone. Even the entry on “How to Meet a Girl’s Parents for the First Time” could well apply to meeting anyone’s parents for the first time, boy, girl, or other.

As a father of girls, I am going to use this book in two ways. One, I’m going to brush up on any skills in which I find myself lacking. And two, I’m going to teach my daughters these things. After all, it isn’t just men who get flat tires, go on job interviews, or have bad breath (all of these topics are covered). I’d love for my kids to be the one in their group of friends who is equipped for anything. And if they show up a guy at the things that guys are stereotypically supposed to know, that’s just fine by me.

The book is laid out with attractive images and simple-to-follow instructions. Be sure to follow the link to read a bit more about the topics covered. It’s a pretty comprehensive list.

And though the editorial copy at the of the book description states that “the world needs confident and capable young men,” I’m sure that it could do with confident and capable people of all kinds.

One response to “Man Skills (That Every Gender Would Be Better Off Knowing)

Leave a Reply

