Two Years Down

On this day two years ago, I published my first blog post. I didn’t know what I was doing, what I expected, or what would happen.

Seriously, how do I get someone in Greenland to read my blog?

Seriously, how do I get someone in Greenland to read my blog?

The perspective of two years has taught me that what I am doing is writing, what I can expect is to put my buns in a chair and type until I’ve got something to read, and what happens is pure magic.

I recently heard that the difference between an author and a writer is that authors write for paychecks while writers write because they can’t do otherwise. Since I have no paychecks coming in from my blog, I suppose this puts me in the second camp. I don’t know what it makes you when you give out paychecks to the people who read your work. Desperate, I guess.

And so I won’t be doing any big money giveaways on my blog this year. Neither will I begin charging you for reading it. Because I believe that there is already a two-way value in my blogging. I benefit from putting my buns in a chair and typing until I discover what I mean to say. And you keep reading it for whatever reason you keep reading it. Why do you keep reading it, anyway?

I’ll tell you what. Let’s make a deal about my blog. I’ll continue doing it with the hope of getting better and you keep reading it in hope of the same. Deal?

Thanks for sticking with me this far!

Leave a Reply

