I am a normal dad who says strange things.

nripperger_underwear

I read this story a while back about graphic designer and father, Nathan Ripperger, who took quotes that he said to his children and made a series of posters out of them. If you aren’t a parent, you might wonder about the veracity of some of these quotes, but they all rang true to me.

As a matter of fact, I was inspired by Mr. Ripperger to start recording some of the strange things that I’ve said to my own children. The following are five such sayings:

  • Don’t attack your sister with a duck.
  • We don’t lick books.
  • Stop stabbing your foot and eat your pizza.
  • Get the viking out of your mouth.
  • Goats are not dinosaurs.

Now I just need someone to make them into fun posters for me.

Do you remember any of the strange things that you’ve said to your kids?

One response to “I am a normal dad who says strange things.

  1. I really need to start recording some of these, the monster will be six this month and in some ways his speech can sound very old fashioned and ‘proper’ coming from such a small person, and if you laugh at anything he says he looks at you with a very serious look and asks ‘Did I say something wrong?’ but he says it with such innocence he makes you feel incredibly guilty for your laughter.

Leave a Reply

