I am Husband to a Wonderful Mom

No one could axe for a better mom!

No one could axe for a better mom!

I don’t want you to have misread that. I didn’t write “I am husband to a wonderful man,” or “I am husband to my wonderful mom.” Neither of those are accurate. What I wrote was “I am husband to a wonderful mom,” meaning that my wife is an amazing mom (which is probably a better title, but it wouldn’t fit in with my “I am” Monday posts and I’m a sucker for tradition).

Sunday morning, on our drive to church, my eldest daughter suddenly said, “Mama, I love you.” And that’s nice, because it was Mother’s Day and it’s good for kids to tell their moms that they love them on Mother’s Day (as well as every other day). Then she went above and beyond with her follow-up question, “Can I tell you something that I love about you?”

“Sure,” said my wife. “I’d love that.”

“I love your smile,” said my daughter.

“I love your smile,” said my wife. “And I love the sound of your laughter.”

“I love the sound of your laughter,” said my daughter.

“I love your sense of fashion,” said my wife.

“I love your sense of fashion,” said my daughter.

“I love that you understand thermodynamics,” I chimed in to make sure that my daughter wasn’t just echoing things.

“Why?” responded my daughter, disproving my echo theory and acting coy about her understanding of thermodynamics (which she never denied knowing; she only seemed skeptical as to why I would like that about her).

There was a lot of smiling going on after this exchange. In fact, I’m smiling now as I recall the conversation. My wife, the amazing mom that she is, gives us all a lot to smile about.

She’s a great comforter, reader-of-bedtime-stories, snuggler, master-of-toy-cleanup-supervision, helper-of-potty-times, and so much more. This is all in addition to her being an amazing wife, kick-butt accountant, and generally awesome person.

Anyway, I love being married to her and she’s a great mom. I hope all of you other moms had a great Mother’s Day and that all of you children of mothers did your best to tell your respective moms that you love them.

2 responses to “I am Husband to a Wonderful Mom

  1. Okay, after reading the blog, I get the big smiles apparently in blinding light, (since the girls both have their eyes closed), but what is with the scary woman holding the hatchet on the card?

Leave a Reply

