I am an anomoly.

I recently had a conversation with someone who I respect, and he asked me what sort of things energized me at work. I hemmed and hawed for a moment before replying that I enjoy having creative freedom and being able to see a project from idea to completion. And while that is true, it got me wondering about the other things that energize me.

It took me a few weeks to realize something that I’ve known all along, something that any of my teachers in grade school could have told you, something that it perfectly obvious to friends and strangers alike.

microphoneI enjoy the spotlight. I like having a microphone in my hand and an audience’s attention in my grasp. And that makes me a bit strange.

Ask one hundred people on the street what they fear, and somewhere near the top of the list will be public speaking.

Whole television show plots have revolved around a character overcoming this fear with the aid of some secondary character’s advice. Usually, someone will tell the main character to imagine everyone else in their underwear. I can’t imagine this ever working in reality, but I don’t really need it to.

You see, I really enjoy public speaking.

The trick is going to be figuring out how to integrate this energizing trait into my life without displacing other important things. I’m already pursuing opportunities to talk about writing, and I’m often the spokesperson for whatever group I happen to be in.

Anyway, as I think about more ways to be in the spotlight (in a healthy way, not as a spectacle), I’m going to continue thinking about that original question and I would encourage you to do the same.

What things energize you? How can you do them more?

 

3 responses to “I am an anomoly.

  1. Prayer, helping others, quiet time alone (have to balance those last two) seeing others grow and succeed, teaching. Good thing you didn’t ask what is draining, would start with drudge. LOL

  2. It seems like many artists enjoy the spot light–some have a strange blend of melancholy aloofness that can focus itself with the anticipation of performing.
    How does the audience affect you? I have no trouble public speaking in church or in front of international students, but I shake when I don’t know my “title”.

Leave a Reply

