There’s Hope For Me Yet…

Every now and again, I’ll get a bit depressed by the fact that I have not landed a major publishing deal (or even finished writing one of my novels) and I’m nearly 32 years old. With the influx of popular literature written by high schoolers (Christopher Paolini) and young adults (Veronica Roth), it is easy to think that I am an old maid in the publishing world.

Laura Ingalls Wilder around 27 years old, with 30 some years to go before she gets published.

Laura Ingalls Wilder around 27 years old, with 30 some years to go before she gets published.

But unless I die tomorrow (I really hope I don’t, because that would be a super creepy thing to happen after writing that), I have plenty of time for my book dreams to be realized. After all, I’d be in good company:

  • Heck, even J.K. Rowling didn’t get her Harry Potter series picked up until she was in her 30’s.
  • Joseph Conrad (author of Heart of Darkness) didn’t publish his first book until he was 37.
  • Multiple-award-winner, Toni Morrison didn’t publish her first book until she was almost 40.
  • O. Henry, famous for his short stories with twist endings didn’t really get started until after 40, writing almost all of his 381 stories within eight years.
  • And Laura Ingalls Wilder didn’t publish her Little House series until she was in her 60’s.

There are tons of other examples as well. The point is that there is always time to get published. My goal should probably not consist of comparing myself to the people who get published at a younger age than me; it should probably be about writing the books that need written in the best way possible.

After all, I’d rather be praised for my writing than be ogled because of my youth. Of course, I wouldn’t mind if some publishing company just wanted to start sending me some royalty checks in advance anyway.

 

 

5 responses to “There’s Hope For Me Yet…

  1. The thing about these whippersnappers getting published? They usually end up being a flash-in-the-pan. The more mature writers (such as ourselves) have more staying power because we understand the necessity of persistence. (or something like that)

    Besides, compared to me, you’re a spring chicken.

  2. Totally agree with Susie. There’s a lot of life experience a maturing writer can bring to a story (and compared to me you are defintiely a young dude). 🙂

  3. I will add you to my prayer list. Keep on writing, keep on pushing, keep on doing. Life can and does change in an instant. I hope your instant is a publisher calling you.

    Sincerely,
    Dana Guidera
    Author of Seven Poems from Life
    http://allskyedout.wordpress.com/

  4. I always go back to the quote, “Comparison is the thief of joy.” So true. And it’s hard not to compare ourselves with others. Best wishes on your writing.

    Oh, and I found your blog while clicking around on Twitter, by the way. I think looking at the twitter feed of the Breathe writers conference. 🙂

Leave a Reply

