I am thinking of taking up carpentry.

In less than a week, I turn 32 years old. Is it possible to still achieve greatness?

According to the life of actor, Harrison Ford, it is.

harrison_fordHarrison Ford is a household name. In 1997, he was ranked No. 1 in Empire‘s “The Top 100 Movie Stars of All Time” list. He’s been in some of the most iconic films of all time: Star Wars, Indiana Jones, Blade Runner, Air Force One, and more.

But he took a long time to land a credited role in a film. Even then, the roles he played in his 20’s were so small that he became a self-taught carpenter in order to make ends meet for his wife and two small kids. It was as a carpenter that he was hired to build cabinets for George Lucas. Lucas cast him in American Graffiti when Ford was 31 years old, and then as Han Solo in Star Wars a few years later.

The rest is history.

There are a few bits of inspiration that I’d like to pull out here. Harrison Ford didn’t give up on his dream of acting, but he did what he had to in order to take care of his family. And it was while he was a carpenter, not an actor, that he made his major break into Hollywood.

As of yet, I have not made any significant contributions to the publishing world. I work a full-time job at a bookstore. I love being married to my beautiful wife and being a dad to my two small kids. I feel like I’m doing what I need to in order to take care of my family. And I haven’t given up on my dream.

So, as I set out on my 32nd trip around the sun, I am encouraged to stay the course and keep my eyes open for opportunities that come my way. I only hope that I can make of those opportunities what Harrison Ford did with George Lucas’ cabinets.

2 responses to “I am thinking of taking up carpentry.

  1. Great story Josh. You know 32 is still really young. Thanks for the follow. I read your piece about writing flash fiction. I agree – I think that shorter fiction will probably be one of the ways of the future. I am new to writing but looking forward to learning how to write well. Cheers.

  2. This was nice. It’s weird how when your young you think you have to achieve everything in your twenties in order for it to be worth while. Now in my thirties I feel so content in life but also grateful that our dreams ARE totally still achievable.

Leave a Reply

