I am thankful for Jot

2014_jot_4_leaderboard2

jot_4_andrew_livestreamThis past weekend, my writers’ group put on the 4th Semi-Annual Jot Writers’ Conference. It was a great time of encouragement, interaction, and learning. If you didn’t get a chance to attend in person, you can still watch the Livestream video here.

Or I could just give you incredibly brief synopses of each presentation:

  • Alison Hodgson – Getting started is hard. It is easier to keep going than to start again. One day you’ll be able to shove your success in the faces of naysayers (but, you know, in a professional and nice way), but only if you keep going.
  • Andrew Rogers – Rejection can be as hard for the publisher as it is for the writer. Don’t be discouraged.
  • Ellen Stumbo – Write the truth, even (maybe especially) when it is hard. You will be more helpful to those people who are going through where you have been than if you pretend you’ve never been there yourself. The truth is worth it, even it some people dislike you for telling it.
  • Sam Carbaugh – Writers get residuals where illustrators do not. Keep your priorities straight. Your book may be a flash in the pan, but your family will be with you for the long run.

One thing we did differently for Jot 4 was the addition of concurrent workshops following the main presentations. I led one on blogging (I’ll post on this tomorrow). Matthew Landrum led one on poetry. Jeff Chapman led one on fiction. I would have loved to sit in on these, but I couldn’t (since I was leading one at the same time), but I’d love to hear some feedback from those of you who did attend them. We’ll probably do them again anyway, but feedback is always helpful.

Speaking of feedback, I’d love to hear any and all of your thoughts regarding Jot.

  • Did you attend?
  • What was your favorite part of Jot?
  • How could we improve the next event?
  • Would you buy a Jot t-shirt or button?
5 responses to “I am thankful for Jot

  1. I really enjoyed myself, and my wife, who was unsure coming into it, seemed to as well.
    I didn’t really have a favorite part, and since we left early (rotten kids), we did NOT get to partake in the workshops. Supreme bummer, y’all.
    Yes, I would SO buy some form of memorabilia or other.

  2. If I don’t get a Jot t-shirt or button or both I will cry oceans of tears! I love Jot.

    Okay, my favorite part was the interview because you and Sam had a special kind of chemistry. But the rest of the evening was my favorite too. It was all very good. I’m kind of glad you didn’t do Q&A after the presentations because that can be super awkward.

    I attended Matthew’s poetry session because I’m a closet poet-ish. He did a great job encouraging the ladies in our circle.

    Improve? Chocolate. Lots of it. Maybe a swimming pool of it? No, really.

    You fellas did a great job yet again. I’m grateful for my Weakling friends.

  3. I attended, and it was an evening well spent. My favorite part was the sense of humor from each of the speakers. I liked the overall tone/vibe of the event. I needed to hear what Ellen Stumbo said, in particular. Very helpful. What a great venue! I wished there was a bit more extra time to wander the book store (slightly longer breaks?) I’m too frugal to buy tshirts and pins, unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

