Jot Blogging Workshop Retrospective

josh_jot_2014As I mentioned yesterday, I was privileged to lead a blogging workshop at the recent Jot Writers’ Conference. I was blown away by the number of people who signed up! Here’s what went down.

After introducing myself, we went around the room and everyone had to share their name, their blog (if they had one), and what they hoped to get out of our time together.

The attendees came from a broad spectrum of writers, but from their stated goals, a few common questions emerged:

  • How do I get started?
  • How do I keep it going?
  • How do I write stuff that people will want to read?
  • How can I increase my visibility online?
  • How do I get better engagement from my readers?
  • Are there any etiquette rules for blogging?

These were all great questions, and I did what I could to answer them. I told the attendees, as I’ve told you all in the past, that I am no expert. I’m just someone who writes a near-daily blog. But still, I’ve learned a few things since I started.

Here’s some stuff that I told them:

  • Develop a mission statement for your blog. Know what it will cover, who you are trying to reach, and how often you will post.
  • Be consistent.
  • Use your blog to develop your voice.
  • Read other blogs, comment on other blogs, develop some blogging friends.
  • Don’t get overwhelmed by social media. Start small and do that thing well. Add other stuff in only when you feel comfortable doing so.
  • Develop a good backlog of posts to put up when you don’t have a chance to write due to life circumstances.
  • And check out the following blogs for good info / good examples of strong blogging voices: Chad Allen & Jessie Clemence

There was a lot more than this, and we all had a great time. If you want more, you’ll have to come hear me at the Breathe Writer’s Conference next month!

Thank you, everyone who attended the workshop. I hope it was beneficial!

3 responses to “Jot Blogging Workshop Retrospective

  1. Josh, I found a lot that was useful in this workshop, so thanks again for leading it! I took your advice and set some content themes for my blog, committed to three consistent posting days per week — maybe I’ll ease into more once I’ve proven I can stick with three — and I’m working on developing a backlog of entries.

    Question for you: Will your workshop at Breathe cover new material about blogging, or will it be similar to the one you hosted at Jot?

    • My workshop at Breathe will be more in-depth and better organized, but will cover similar material. The goal of my Breathe session will be to give writers a reason to blog, a plan to get started, and a schedule that will make it possible to continue their main writing projects. Some of these things came up in the Jot session, which was more Q&A than anything else.

Leave a Reply

