On the folding of books

The bookstore where I work just got in a new product that intrigues me. It’s a series of books, the pages of which are meant to be folded. They’re called Artfolds and they look like this:

As I am a fan of both books and folding things, these seem like a good fit for me. The idea is that as you read the book, you fold the pages as marked in the instructions. When you are finished reading, you have a new piece of art for your home. After all, when you aren’t reading a book, it is probably just taking up space on a bookshelf (or if you are like me, the floor, because your bookshelf is too full). It may as well be pulling its weight by being attractive.

Probably if you do enough of these things, you’ll be able to figure out how to turn non-marked books into book art like these.

The thing that stops me from loving this idea entirely is that I am constantly telling my kids not to bend the pages of their books. I’d be a bit of a hypocrite if I started doing this at home.

Anyway, I think this is a cool idea and I wanted to share it with you. The basic books are around $15. The literary classics that spell out words are around $20. Stop by Baker Book House and check them out today!

2 responses to “On the folding of books

  1. Origami with covers. Clever and cool. BTW Josh there is a proper time and place for dog-ears in books. When your daughtersare more than 50% of your age, I suspect you will understand. Wink wink nudge nudge.😜

Leave a Reply

