I am an Apple lover.

Real apples, that is. I’m sure that the overpriced electronics giant doesn’t need my blog to do any extra advertising for them.

My wife and I love to go apple picking. Unfortunately, due to weather, illness, and unfortunate scheduling conflicts, we have yet to make the trek to one of the many apple orchards around us (there are times when I love living in Michigan). But all wrongs were made right when we found our favorite apple variety at the grocery store this weekend.

Photo courtesy of Glysiak via Wikimedia Commons

Photo courtesy of Glysiak via Wikimedia Commons

Behold the beautiful Jonagold Apple!

It is sweet, spicy, and has a satisfying crunch. Plus, it is way less expensive than the over-hyped Honeycrisps that I hear so much about.

If you appreciate a good apple too, here’s a recipe to make something good even better. Or, as I like to think of it, here’s how to take something that is moderately healthy and make it fit for American consumption. But all jokes aside, it’s a really good Apple Dip.

Apple Dip

Ingredients: 8 oz cream cheese (softened), 1 cup brown sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions: Mix until blended. Eat up. Refrigerate what you don’t use.

And if you haven’t gone out an picked up some Apple cider to mull yet, what are you waiting for? Autumn is here and you are just twiddling your thumbs! Go mull some cider!

4 responses to “I am an Apple lover.

  1. That sounds so decadent, yet so simple! Plus, I bet I could make some modifications to make it dairy free to some. We all know how apples and brown sugar go together! 🙂 -plus, I may add some cinnamon and a touch of nutmeg.

  2. I’m in love with pink lady apples right now, and apple salad.
    Slice 4 apples
    Mix together 1 raspberry yogurt and 1 container cool whip
    Chop 2 king sized milky way/snickers
    Fold together
    Its beautifully decadent…enjoy!

  3. Pingback: Apples All Around | kellyawarren7·

Leave a Reply

