I am never without my notebook.

NOTEBOOKS_001_731x300

As I stood at the back of a room full of first-graders, listening to Sally Lloyd-Jones, I felt a pinch of smug pride. You see, she was answering a child’s question about capturing thoughts in her notebook and how every author should carry some paper and a pen for just such and event, and there I was leaning against a row of pint-sized lockers and jotting down notes in my notebook.

In the past month or so, I’ve been ruining my right front pants pocket with a sturdy (though still rather curved) Moleskine notebook. I used to always keep a pen handy too, but due to a laundry incident or two (sorry DeAnne), I’ve tried to keep these in my jacket pocket. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been happy that I carry it.

It wasn’t always thus. There were dark days before my notebook where I’d follow some inspiration with the cursed phrase “This is so good, I’ll have to remember it. How could I forget it?” only to forget it three minutes later.

Now, I use my notebook to write story ideas, blog ideas, song ideas, and so on. And I refer to it often when I need to write, but I don’t know where to start. It is to my brain and my writing what an external hard-drive is to an underpowered computer. I may not be the smartest or the best writer in the world, but as long as I remember to write ideas in my notebook, I’ll have fresh content to share everyday.

Do you carry a notebook? Have you ever lost a thought because you didn’t write it down?

Leave a Reply

