Reading Time at Baker Book House

A week ago, I was asked to step in for the Children’s Reading Time that happens at 10:30 every Thursday morning at Baker Book House. Miss Penelope (everyone’s favorite story-time friend) was out-of-town, so I volunteered. I set reminders for myself so I wouldn’t miss it, but I didn’t even need them because I was too excited to forget. I picked out five books to read, all of them fantastic.

These were the books that I chose:

9780062290038

Circle, Square, Moose by Kelly Bingham and Paul O. Zelinsky

9781423199571

Waiting Is Not Easy! by Mo Willems

9781423114376

Naked Mole Rat Gets Dressed by Mo Willems

9780763653118

King Arthur’s Very Great Grandson by Kenneth Kraegel

9780375873881 (1)

and How to Be a Baby… by Me, the Big Sister by Sally Lloyd-Jones

If you haven’t read these, you should. They are all genius.

But back to story-time. I walked out with my books and a blanket (to put the train table to sleep so the kids listen to the stories instead of playing with the trains), my chest puffed out with anticipation. And what did I find?

1 kid.

Just one child and mom team showed up to hear me read. We waited for a few minutes, but it was soon clear that no one else was coming. It was the first day of snow and people were scared to leave home.

So I read King Arthur’s Very Great Grandson and Waiting Is Not Easy! Then I asked the boy if he would like me to read another one or if he’d like to play with the train table. You already know which one he chose.

I was sad, but I moved on. I went home and read stories to my kids. We don’t have a train table at home, so they had nothing better to distract them.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Out of curiosity, would any of my readers be interested in something like a story-time live-stream where you could be part of Baker’s story-time while sitting at home with your kids?

Leave a Reply

