I am Not from the Deep South

My brother, his wife, and their two boys (who are comparably aged to our girls) are in town for the Thanksgiving holidays. Yesterday, we decided to get our families together at Catch Air, an indoor playground for the 4 foot tall and under crowd.

catch_airThe kids had a sweaty good time running around and sliding down the inflatable equipment, but that doesn’t have anything to do with the title.

You see, the whole drive over to Catch Air, I kept needing to correct my youngest daughter.

“We’re going to go see our husbands?” she would ask.

“No,” I would say. “We’re going to see your cousins.”

“Husbands?” she would reiterate.

“Cousins,” I would say. “We don’t marry our cousins. Some people do, but not us.”

My apologies to anyone I may have offended with this post.

But seriously, there’s a lot of people in the world to whom you are not related. Maybe you should have married one of them.

Leave a Reply

