I am prepared to eat crow.

Last week, I wrote that I would rather read a book with a witch protagonist than a lot of Christian drivel. And while I’ll defend that statement by saying that there’s a lot of Christian drivel out there (and the Tiffany Aching series is really good), I’m ready to retract the sentiment for specific books.

emissaryFor my first book of the new year, I’ve decided to read Thomas Locke’s Emissary, first in the Legends of the Realm series. I wrote about it here after hearing the author speak at the publisher’s sales conference. I remember being intrigued at the time, but I wasn’t sold yet. After all, a product can have a nice pitch, but the proof for a book is in the reading.

I’m about halfway through Emissary, and I’m impressed so far. Locke writes fantasy like a thriller so it keeps my attention well. If anything, the writing could stand to be a little more drawn out. As a fantasy nerd, I’m not afraid of books that are as thick as they are wide (as is not the case with Emissary). The main character, Hyam, is likeable and interesting. I’m curious to see where it will go.

So I might be writing this prematurely, but I think people should know about this book and series. Maybe you could read it too and we could have a good fantasy book discussion or something.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

P.S. I teased it in my previous post, but I’ll come out and say it now: Thomas Locke is the new pen name for established author, Davis Bunn. Bunn is better known for his contributions to Christian literature in both the romance genre and the modern thriller genre. Since mainstream Fantasy readers are unlikely to be impressed by such credits, Bunn decided to write under a pen name. Thus Thomas Locke was born. Now you know, and knowing is half the battle.

One response to “I am prepared to eat crow.

  1. Pingback: On the Origin of Eating Crow and Humble Pie | Josh Mosey | Writer·

Leave a Reply

