Chubby Bunny Deaths

From grade school through high school, I took my life in my hands semi-regularly, usually at church youth group events. I’ll blame it on peer pressure. Well, peer pressure and because we were instructed to do so by our youth group leaders. How?

Chubby Bunny.

marshmallowsThere is a game that is now banned in most thinking regions of the world called Chubby Bunny. If you don’t remember playing this game as a youngster (possibly because you suffer from memory lapses as a result of playing the game in question), let me explain it to you.

Step 1 – Put a marshmallow in  your mouth.

Step 2 – Say “Chubby Bunny” as articulately as possible.

Repeat Steps 1 and 2 until you can no longer be understood, you lose any of the marshmallows, or you die.

But has anyone really died from playing this childhood game? According to Snopes.com, yes. At least two people, in fact.

In 1999, 12-year-old Catherine “Casey” Fish met a sugary end during the Care Fair at Hoffman Elementary school outside Chicago. Had she waited until the authorized time for the Chubby Bunny competition to begin, she may have lived. Instead, she stuck four marshmallows in her mouth while the class supervisor was out of the room. By the time someone got help, it was too late.

But that was just a kid who wasn’t listening to the rules, right? That would never happen to someone who should know better.

Oops. It totally did. In 2006, 32-year-old Janet Rudd’s final sugar rush happened in London, Ontario during a game at the fair.

And those are only the reported Chubby Bunny deaths. Who knows how many go unreported everyday?

Let’s talk straight for a minute. Stuffing marshmallows into your gob probably isn’t the safest thing that you can do in life. So should we stop people from playing it at parties and such? I don’t know. I don’t think kids should be coerced into playing it as I was when I was young, but I don’t think the same rules should apply for adults. People do dumb things everyday and if an adult wants to play Russian Roulette with a mouthful of puffed sugar, I’m not going to stop them. I just hope they’ll act responsibly and know when to give up.

For that matter, I wonder what dumb things I do everyday that are analogous to playing Chubby Bunny. At what point should I give up before I get myself killed or worse? I guess I’ll just trudge on in my ignorance. That’s probably best.

Anyway, I won’t be playing Chubby Bunny.

4 responses to “Chubby Bunny Deaths

  1. While a game involving stuffing an increasing amount of food in one’s mouth while trying to talk and probably laughing is probably not a great idea, the games such as “chubby bunny” that involve MARSHMALLOWS is particularly dangerous. Here’s why, as I recall it was explained on Oprah: With marshmallows in that game, the player does NOT need to accidently swallow them the wrong way to choke. Instead, what happens is the earlier marshmallows get pushed a little further back on the tongue, thus closer to the body heat. The body heat can MELT a marshmallow sitting there near the back of the tongue, which can cause some of the melted marshmallow to drip down the throat and FORM A SEAL on the esophagus, which is then impossible to break. So Heimlich or any kind of sucking device that was tried failed to break the seal. THAT’S WHY!

Leave a Reply

