An Updated Slice of my Childhood

You know how when you were growing up, your parents would buy you a Berenstain Bear book for whatever thing you happened to be struggling with in the hopes that you would take the lesson learned in the book and apply it vigorously in your own life? No? Was I the only one?

Well, the two books that I was read on a regular basis were The Berenstain Bears and the Messy Room and The Berenstain Bears and Too Much TV. In adulthood, my room is a lot less messy (not my office, just my bedroom, but to be fair, I don’t think there is a Berenstain Bears and the Messy Office) and my wife and I don’t even own a television.

Whenever we want to curl up in front of a screen, we use the computer, and our kids really enjoy some of the shows available on pbskids.org. Anyway, when I was a kid, I was a massive couch potato. Often, the best way to punish me was to take away my television time. Not that I ever needed punished, what with being such a great kid and all (I’m hoping that my parents forget to read today’s blog post).

But one of the shows that helped shape my childhood was “Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood”. I loved Mister Rogers. Even looking back now at old episodes on YouTube, I still love Mister Rogers. He was 100% genuine and a great example of how a person should live among other people. The world lost a great man when Mister Rogers passed away.

As I was flipping through the videos available on pbskids.org, my eldest daughter wanted to watch the kitty cat show, which I discovered to be “Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood.”

Oh my goodness, how this updated version of the show I grew up with brought back memories!

danieltiger-banner-img

Though animated, the show is cut from the same cloth as the original, using songs and interesting people to teach lessons about life. The show we watched tonight was about how making things for others is a good way to show them that you love them. And when it was done, my eldest asked me if she could make Mommy a card. Unfortunately, it was bedtime and I’m an ogre when it comes to a strict bedtime, so I told her that we could do that tomorrow.

I’m super glad that Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood exists, and I’m already looking forward to watching it again with the girls in the future. Maybe it’s nostalgia or a relapse into my couch potato tendencies, but I’m going to believe that it’s just a good, educational show.

If you aren’t familiar with it already, you check it out here. Good job, PBS!

Leave a Reply

