Icebreaker #1 | What do you like to read?

Since I posted last week about the icebreaker questions that I ask of others, I thought it would only make sense to answer them myself. So in case you don’t know me by now, you’ll finally get your chance. (For further reading, feel free to brush up on the rest of the posts on this blog. There are a few.)

What do I like to read?

When I read new books, I gravitate toward fiction, mostly fantasy-based. It all started in middle-school when I picked up my father’s copy of The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien, which is really the gateway book to nerdier books like The Lord of the Rings and The Silmarillion. After that, there was no turning back and the next thing I knew I was reading The Chronicles of Narnia and Lewis’ other masterpiece, The Space Trilogy. Harry Potter followed. Then the Discworld series by Terry Pratchett. Then the Abhorsen Chronicles by Garth Nix. And on and on.

I’ve come to terms with the fact that I am a nerd for this reading list. In fact, I like who I am. Deal with it.

4_writers_vonnegutWhen I reread, I find myself in the books of Kurt Vonnegut. It’s actually kind of an obsession, but one that reminds me to treat others with kindness and love, so it probably isn’t all that bad. Plus, Vonnegut was a really good writer. People could do worse than read his books over and over and over again. And often, people do.

So it goes.

One response to “Icebreaker #1 | What do you like to read?

  1. Pingback: Enough to Break the Ice -or- 15 Answers to Icebreaker Questions | Josh Mosey | Writer·

Leave a Reply

