Icebreaker #2 | If you could have a superpower, which one would you choose?

This is the second installment of my Icebreaker series. So in case you don’t know me by now, you’ll finally get your chance. (For further reading, feel free to brush up on the rest of the posts on this blog. There are a few.)

If you could have a superpower, which one would you choose?

There are so many superpowers out there. If you can’t think of one, just watch an X-Men movie or two. You’ll get the idea.

A lot of people pick flight as their chosen power, but not me. I mean, I wouldn’t turn down the option to fly, but that wouldn’t be my first pick.

I’ve always been enamored with the notion of stopping time. I blame a television show from the 80’s for starting this desire. The show was Out of this World and the main character was a girl who could freeze time by touching her index fingers together. It wasn’t particularly well-received (The book Television Without Pity described it as “quite possibly the worst sitcom ever made-it’s a complete failure on every level,” and the Splitsider website called it “perhaps the worst sitcom ever, or at least the most ’80s sitcom ever”.), but it did light a spark of interest in my fertile mind.

I would also settle for slowing time down quite a bit, in the style of Marvel’s Quicksilver (Magneto’s son who made an appearance in X-Men: Days of Future Past).

The problem that I see with being able to stop time would be that I would have trouble moving freely. If time is frozen, then the objects around me would be locked in place as well, akin to an object in a frozen pool. And if I did manage to move something, there’s a good chance that the relative speed with which the object would be moved in real time would probably cause that item to burst into flame.

But superpowers aren’t real anyway, and if they were, they would probably allow some wiggle room in the laws of physics.

One response to “Icebreaker #2 | If you could have a superpower, which one would you choose?

  1. Pingback: Enough to Break the Ice -or- 15 Answers to Icebreaker Questions | Josh Mosey | Writer·

Leave a Reply

