Icebreaker #4 | Which radio station do you listen to?

This is the fourth installment of my Icebreaker series. I think that ice is really getting broken now. Let’s continue. (For further reading, feel free to brush up on the rest of the posts on this blog. There are a few.)

Which radio station do you listen to?

When I was the music buyer for Baker Book House, music was my job. I had to be familiar with all the artists that played on the Christian radio stations in town. And since no one wants to do for free what they could be paid for, I found it difficult to listen to Christian radio stations when I wasn’t at work.

Thus began my love affair with National Public Radio. My goodness, NPR has some fantastic programming. I love being informed about what is going on in the world. I love their educational radio shows where I learned new things or got to explore parts of society to which I was not privy (Radiolab and This American Life, specifically). Not to mention their humorous shows like Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me and Car Talk.

img142187580099-185-100-207But I’ve been out of the music buying job for a while now. I still listen to NPR on occasion, but lately I’ve been craving good music. And so, for the last year or so I’ve been addicted to WYCE 88.1fm.

No other station plays a more eclectic mix of music styles, and somehow I like 90% of the music they play. The station is funded by the community and run by volunteers. There are no commercials. There’s just people playing awesome music, a good chunk of which is made by local musicians.

If you are tired of over-the-top disc jockeys and listening to the same 10 songs every time you turn on the radio, switch your dial to 88.1fm. You’ll probably find a new artist to love and a few community events that you would have otherwise missed.

Also, you can listen online, so there’s no excuse not to give them a try. Go listen!

One response to “Icebreaker #4 | Which radio station do you listen to?

  1. Pingback: Enough to Break the Ice -or- 15 Answers to Icebreaker Questions | Josh Mosey | Writer·

Leave a Reply

