Icebreaker #6 | Do you have any fun holiday traditions?

This is the sixth installment of my Icebreaker series. As we are now past the 1/3 point of the icebreaker questions, celebration is in order. So stand up and shout for joy. Now sit down. Let’s continue. (For further reading, feel free to brush up on the rest of the posts on this blog. There are a few.)

Do you have any fun holiday traditions?

Though I have written about it before, it is always fun to reminisce about holiday traditions. And since I didn’t reference any specific holiday, I’ll talk about more than just what I linked to in that last sentence.

DSC01427For the lazy, the link goes to a post I wrote about how each Christmas, my wife and I buy a new Lego set to use as an ornament for our Christmas tree. Sometime before Christmas, my wife and I set aside some time alone and take turns adding pieces to the Lego set. It is a fun activity to do together, and it supports my love of Lego. Double win!

But there are more holidays than that.

Since Easter is coming up, I’ll cover that next. We didn’t do anything for Easter when the girls were too young to appreciate it. Even now, I think they just like getting gifts. Anyway, it was our goal to not fill their Easter baskets full of candy (because what parents likes the effects of their already hyper children on sugar-fueled destructive sprees?). To that end, we gave them a mix of books, small toys, and a family movie to share. (If you are looking for ideas to fill your kids’ Easter basket this year, click here.)

Before our kids came along (warning, I’m about to be a bit USA-centric here), my wife and I used to head downtown to watch the big fireworks displays on the 4th of July. And though every culture has a 4th of July, not all of them celebrate it with fireworks the way ‘Muricans do. Since the kids came along, we haven’t done this. In order for us to see them as a family, we’d have to go out way after bedtime, and that just isn’t likely to happen.

For Halloween, I don’t know if we’ve done the same thing twice, so anything I say here doesn’t really fit the definition of a tradition. But we usually try to get the girls dressed up for some kind of Halloween trick-or-treat event. This past year, we attended a community thing at a park near our house. Before that, we brought the girls to something that my wife’s work puts on for kids that featured haunted hallways and a ton of candy (of which, in total honesty, I ate the majority).

At Thanksgiving, we do what everyone does. We go around the table to say what we’re thankful for and then we eat way too much. Maybe that’s another American thing. Anyway, it is always good.

That brings us back to Christmas, so I’ll talk about another tradition. We always watch the Dr. Seuss classic, How the Grinch Stole Christmas.

And having come full-circle on holidays, it is time for me to ask you: Do you have any fun holiday traditions?

One response to “Icebreaker #6 | Do you have any fun holiday traditions?

  1. Pingback: Enough to Break the Ice -or- 15 Answers to Icebreaker Questions | Josh Mosey | Writer·

Leave a Reply

