I am reclaiming my reading habits.

I’ve been at the new job for a month now. Wow, did that go quick!

Last week, I talked about how life in my home is in a state of constant change. One of the biggest changes for me has been the adjustment of my personal time.

Prior to starting at the publishing house, I would help my wife and children get out the door in time for my wife to drop the kids at her folks’ house, and then I would have an hour or so to work on my blog before I needed to leave for work. My new schedule does not include that hour of blogging time. I leave a minute or two after my wife does.

But I’m a writer and a blogger, and I feel like I need to keep writing and blogging. So I’ve had to find other time to write.

Occasionally, I’m able to write a blog post on my lunch. More often, I write at night after the kids have gone to bed during the time when my wife and I would otherwise have some down time to focus on each other. (I’ve tried to keep blogging out of this time as much as possible, but it still happens.)

With the shift of writing time, and the responsibilities at work (I feel compelled to actually read the books that I am trying to market), one thing that I haven’t done at all for the last month is read for fun.

But what good is a writer who does not read for fun? For that matter, why would I want to work in publishing if I don’t read any publications separate from my job? (As a side note, I have sincerely enjoyed the books that Discovery House has published, but I would normally read a lot more fiction, humor, and children’s books than I have in the last month).

9781439167861So I am reclaiming my reading time. I picked up a book by Michael Ian Black at the library the other day and I’m going to read it for fun. The book in question is You’re Not Doing It Right, and it seems appropriate to me, because by giving up my reading time, I wasn’t doing it right at all. I need to fill my creative tank in order to write.

What does that do to the rest of my schedule? To be honest, I don’t know yet. It’ll work out somehow.

Have you ever had to cut something out of your schedule that you loved? Did you put it back in?

One response to “I am reclaiming my reading habits.

  1. I spoke at our middle school for Career Day last week, and I talked about how many of my friends have to balance being a writer with a job that actually pays the bills. I’m not sure the struggle made an impact on the children, but I tried. Way to recalculate and start again!

Leave a Reply

