Book Review | You’re Not Doing It Right by Michael Ian Black

9781439167861I don’t remember when I first read Michael Ian Black’s essay “What I Would Be Thinking About If I Were Billy Joel Driving Toward a Holiday Party Where I Knew There Was Going to Be a Piano.” What I do remember is loving it. So when I happened upon Michael Ian Black’s book, You’re Not Doing It Right, I had to pick it up.

Michael Ian Black is a very famous actor, writer, husband and father. It doesn’t matter that you may not know who he is. In spite of his fame, Michael Ian Black’s experiences and humiliations are common to most men.

In fact, aside from being older, more famous, thinner, funnier, probably wealthier, and less religious, we could be twins. Well, also my parents didn’t divorce because my mom was a lesbian. They divorced for other reasons. But Michael Ian Black and I both experienced vertigo, so we’re essentially the same.

Black’s book, You’re Not Doing It Right, is a frank memoir of the actor’s life and failures. Imagine sneaking into your sibling’s bedroom and stealing their diary, that one labeled “Keep out!!! This means you!!” and taking into the bathroom (so you can lock the door behind you) and reading all of their secrets. If nothing else, you won’t be able to look at them in the same way thereafter. That’s what it is like to read this book, but in the best way possible.

Michael Ian Black’s book is nothing less than a sledgehammer for whatever pedestal you have put him on. It is an invitation to stop feeling crazy and know that there are people (even very famous people) who struggle with selfishness in marriage, frustrations in parenting, and relationships in general.

True, it was utterly unlike any memoir that might have passed my desk at a Christian publishing house, but that is one of the reasons that I read it. If you can get past some colorful language and a potentially sordid history (let’s be honest, none of us are proud of every part of our history), you can’t go wrong with You’re Not Doing It Right.

One response to “Book Review | You’re Not Doing It Right by Michael Ian Black

  1. What a great title for his book! I definitely fall into the trap of thinking there’s a right way to do everything…but life is so much more fun and joyful when I can manage to give up that ridiculous notion! Thanks for the heads-up on this book–I remember Black from his days on Stella….

Leave a Reply

