The world still doesn’t need another blog.

three_years_strong (2)

As of today, I’ve been blogging for 3 years. In blog years, that may be equal to 15 regular years. I’m not exactly sure because I have no idea what the average age of a blog is and I’m not that good at mathematical conversions. So I decided to ask the experts at WordPress.

Here’s our conversation:

Me: How many years has the average blog been active?

Zandy: Hi there – hmm, I don’t think we track that specifically. We have something like 77 million users, spanning 10 + years, so there is likely a very wide range.

Me: Tomorrow is my blog’s 3rd birthday, and I don’t know if that is better or worse or equal to the average

Zandy: Personally, 3 years is really great!

Me: Thanks Zandy, I found one article online that threw out the number of 33 months, but it was written 9 years ago and the blogging landscape has changed.

Me: Are there no meta statistics that WordPress corporate uses for how long blogs have been active?

Zandy: I don’t have any specifics, but I hear from users who struggle to make it a year (but I work in support, vs the regular on-going users)

Zandy: I’ll check to see if we have anything – hang on a minute!

Me: Thanks!

Zandy: Ok, Josh, we don’t have any numbers we can share, but as I was talking with my colleagues, everyone mentioned that three years is on the high end – so congratulations!

Me: Awesome. Thanks for the validation. Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to return to my 3-year-long practice of shouting into the void. Have a good day!

Zandy: haha – you have a great day!

So there you have it. As far as longevity is concerned, I’m doing pretty well. As for content, I’ll leave that judgement up to you, the readers.

Here’s the highlight reel:

Top 5 Posts

  1. 11 Fun Raccoon Facts
  2. We are too young to buy caskets.
  3. Mrs. Eiffel
  4. On the Origin of Tuckered Out
  5. The Origin of Bah Humbug!

Number of posts – 900

Lifetime views – 87,340

Number of countries reached – 163

If I say anything more, I’ll feel like a pompous moron (not that I’m not, I just don’t currently feel like one). Thanks for being part of my writing journey. Thanks especially to my beautiful wife, DeAnne, for her sacrifice of time together because she believes in my writing.

2 responses to “The world still doesn’t need another blog.

Leave a Reply

