I may be prolific, but you don’t have to be.

This is a follow-up post to yesterday’s post on how to post everyday. Post. Sorry, I just wanted to get one more mention of post in there, but it didn’t quite fit. Yesterday, I gave a few tips on how to get content regularly onto a blog, but today I’m going to ask you to forget about what I said. Well, forget about it if it isn’t helpful for you.

9780849964800I attended a speaking & book signing event tonight with Sheridan Voysey, author of Resurrection Year (Thomas Nelson, 2013) and the forthcoming book, Resilient (Discovery House, 2015). After speaking through his experiences that were laid out in his books, Sheridan opened up the floor for questions.

As great of a writer as I think Sheridan is, he may even be better at asking and answering questions. It probably has something to do with his years as one of Australia’s top radio program hosts. One of the questions that he was asked related to his practice of journal writing. In order to capture his experiences over the span of life covered in Resurrection Year, Sheridan relied heavily upon his journals. The question asked was on how to keep writing in a journal when you hit a dry spell in your writing life.

529090_21140214Sheridan responded by saying that journals should serve the writer, not the other way around. He uses journals to capture the highs and the lows, the questions and the discoveries. If there isn’t anything to talk about relating to these things, don’t write in them.

He said that he may go for a few weeks between writing in his journal, but he is still a big advocate for keeping one.

I would like to draw some parallels between Sheridan’s journal advice and what could be a healthy approach to blogging. If your blog is your online journal, if its audience is made up of you and the people with whom you choose to share it, then by no means should you feel compelled to write everyday or even all that regularly. But if you are blogging in order to hone your writing or to gather an audience, then don’t treat it like a journal.

As with any project worth doing, you are going to have to ask yourself why you are doing it. I don’t think it is possible to write for no purpose (you’ll either write something worthwhile or learn something by writing), but I do think you should know your goals.

Why do you write? And how often? I’d love to hear your answers!

6 responses to “I may be prolific, but you don’t have to be.

  1. I write every day, where I write varies, though I do try to post daily on my Blog some times I miss a day or two, likewise with my journal, but I make a point of writing somewhere each day. I also try to work on my current project daily even if it is rereading a few lines and doing a little editing. Even on holidays I still keep my creative brain working by taking lots of photo’s learning about the places I visit and making journal notes.

      • Very very cluttered lol I will do a post about it at some point when I do I will link it for you but if I am honest I can write just about anywhere and I actually find I write poetry better sat in the middle of a field or in the woods, writing in a notebook with a pen.

  2. Josh, I was just looking through your archives and I like this post a lot. I have a question: What if your goal IS to gather an audience, but you are spread thin with your writing projects and don’t have the bandwidth to blog daily? What then? Is three posts per week OK? I know several people, myself included, who blog thrice-weekly. Is that enough to gain more followers? I am trying to build a platform, and I get lots of conflicting advice, from “Don’t waste your time blogging, it’s not that helpful,” to “Blog every day!” to “Three times a week is probably fine.”

    Your thoughts for me?

    • Great question! If I were going to do it over again, I’d probably pick three days a week. More important than your output is your consistency. If people know that they can see new content from you at least three times a week, you’ll be all set. I wouldn’t stress about doing more than that.

      • Cool, that is quite a relief to hear you say that! Sometimes I look at other bloggera with day jobs who write every day about their writing projects, and I wonder, how do they have time to DO their writing projects if they’re blogging daily? It’s a conundrum to me.

Leave a Reply

