Riddles in the Dark (Pre-School Edition)

On the way home from Grandma & Grandpa’s house last night, my wife and I were playing a game with our girls.

“What is the letter that starts the word ‘kangaroo’?” I would ask.

“Hmm,” my oldest daughter would say. “K!”

“Nice job!” I would affirm.

And then things went sideways.

DSC02035

Here I am with my little Riddler.

“My turn!” yelled my eldest. “I have a tricky one!”

“Okay,” I said hesitantly. “What is my clue?”

“It doesn’t have hair,” she said.

We were no longer guessing letters of the alphabet. Now, we were in the realm of infinite possibilities.

“Is it me?” I asked. I shave my head after all.

“Nope,” she said. “Want another clue?”

“I think I’m going to need one,” I said.

“It doesn’t have feet,” she said.

“Hmm,” I pondered.

“I told you it was a tricky one,” she said.

Tricky indeed. After every guess I made, she told me I was wrong. Eventually she gave me additional clues. Here are all of the clues together:

  • It has no hair.
  • It has no feet.
  • It has no legs.
  • It has powers, but it doesn’t use them because it doesn’t know how.
  • It has a ponytail inside.
  • It is all pink.
  • It is a carnivore.
  • It wears dresses.
  • It is an animal.
  • It lives in our town.
  • It doesn’t live in a house.
  • It is five chairs big.
  • It has a short life.
  • It walks on its hands, inside-out. (I have no idea what this means.)
  • It wears underwear.
  • It says, “I love you.”
  • It is nice.
  • It has a mouth.
  • It has a tail made of yarn.
  • It has a drawer, but the drawer is bare.

So, dear reader, I need your help. This is a tricky riddle indeed. Do any of you have any ideas of what it could be? Because I honestly don’t know.

And I suspect that my oldest daughter doesn’t either.

7 responses to “Riddles in the Dark (Pre-School Edition)

  1. I went through a couple of options in my head before landing on what I believe is correct…
    Ahem…
    It’s The Ooogah Boogah Bald Headed, Slightly Obscure House Monster.

    ^_^
    What do I win? 😉

    • Sorry, Ileandra. I don’t think it can be the Ooogah Boogah Bald Headed, Slightly Obscure House Monster because it doesn’t live in a house. I had the same thought, though.

  2. Two eyed triple jointed, pink backed dinosaur (or dragon) with warts up and down it’s spine, and it’s pink because it loves to drink pink color drinks that changes her color, and of course dragons have magical hands that are inside out and powers it doesn’t know how to use – think “How to train your dragon” and everyone knows dragons don’t live in houses, but without underwear is just “Ewww” in girl terms…and your town is the only town nice enough to let the dragon stay cause….no one there cares if you are bald!

  3. Is she sure it isn’t you? I think you told me that you had a ponytail inside before, and I know you had a walking on your hands class in college.

Leave a Reply

