I am awaiting rejection.

Submitting is a double-edged sword. Specifically, I’m speaking as a writer who submits their work for review and publication… or rejection. One the one hand, there’s no other way to get a work published than to submit it. On the other hand, well, rejection.

At the moment, I’ve got two pieces of writing out there in the world awaiting their fates and one more that was previously rejected that I am thinking about sending out again. You might think that getting a rejection notice would be the worst part of the submission process. That’s just not true. The absolute worst part (for me, anyway) is the waiting, the time it takes from when I send my work out into the world to the time when I hear something back from the publisher.

tEREUy1vSfuSu8LzTop3_IMG_2538I hate waiting. I’m so hooked on instant gratification (possibly because I am a Millennial, and we just hate waiting for anything) that, and I’m not even kidding here, as soon as I hit the send button on my email to an editor, I’m hoping to hear something back on the inside of five minutes. After all, how long can it take to read the things that I’m submitting for review? Are these editors’ jobs not dependent on people sending them things to read and possibly publish? Why aren’t they reading my submission as soon as I’ve sent it at 11pm?

Seriously, this should not take so long.

And yet, I work for a publisher. I am good friends with some editors. I know these things take time. I know that I’m not the only person submitting stuff for review. But knowledge of the publishing process does not equate to a comfortable wait.

So what should a writer do in order to stay sane while waiting for rejection? I’m going to do the only thing I can do. I’m going to write new things, I’m going to forget about the old ones, and I’m never going to run out of things to submit. So I guess I’ll never have to run out of things to stress out over either.

Lucky me.

Writers, how do you deal with the waiting time between submission and acceptance/rejection?

5 responses to “I am awaiting rejection.

  1. I try to just mentally accept that every thing I has been rejected and put it out of my mind and move onto the next thing as soon as I hit that submit button. That way by the time a rejection comes I am over it and should it be an acceptance I just have to avoid having a heart attack due to the shock lol. I am just working on two pieces for submission at the minute as I have decided to do extra short stories each month for submission to market to break up working on larger projects 😀

  2. I deal with it by constantly checking my email for a couple weeks. Then forgetting about it then getting the eventual email and thinking “Oh, yea I forgot about that.”

  3. I think the waiting is difficult. I can accept a rejection; what is harder is someone ignoring you. A rejection letter gives me some sense of closure, at least. Okay, not that door. Not this project. Not this timing. Not this publisher. Whatever. Now I can move on. But I’ve had publishers tell me I made it past that first level and they’d take my work to the pub board only to never hear from them again. Not a “sorry, we decided not to publish this” or such common courtesy. And, the one time I was brazen enough to write back and ask, “So, how’d that pub board meeting go?”…. the editor ignored that, too, and never sent a reply of any kind. I know they are busy. I get it. I know they can’t send substantive replies to everyone who submits work. But if I’ve made it to the point where you’ve made personal contact with me, I deserve a simple email telling me ‘yes’ or ‘no’ rather than to be left hanging.

  4. Pingback: The wait is over! Rejections for everyone! | Josh Mosey | Writer·

Leave a Reply

