Recipes for Writers (& Other Busy Folk) | Sloppy Joes

DSC02405I may be breaking some kind of rule here. The recipe I’m sharing today is a family recipe. I stole it from my mom and I’m giving it to all of you. If I get in trouble with my mom, I’m going to say I was hacked and delete this post. Though writing that out may nullify any claim that I was hacked. Anyway, this is the best recipe for Sloppy Joes that I’ve ever eaten and it seemed like more of a violation to keep it to myself than it would be to share it.

Also, sometimes I want access to recipes while I’m away from my cookbook at home and putting them on my blog is an easy way to reference them if that happens. But this way you can enjoy it too.

If you do try this recipe, drop me a note in the comments and tell me what you think!

Sloppy Joes

Ingredients

  • 1.5 lb. ground beef
  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tbsp. chili powder
  • 1 tbsp. mustard

Recipe Yield – 8-10 Servings  |  Prep Time – 10 minutes  |  Total Time – 25 minutes

Directions

Brown the ground beef and drain it. Add all remaining ingredients. Bring to a boil. Simmer on medium/low heat, stirring occasionally until sauce thickens. Slap it on a bun and call it dinner.

8 responses to “Recipes for Writers (& Other Busy Folk) | Sloppy Joes

  1. Give credit where credit is due, it was from Peggy Maaser from Montrose MI. Thank you, Peggy, it’s a great recipe!

  2. Take a pic next time, I can Pin and make your mom a famous cook. PS, don’t tell your dad there is mustard in there, or he might never eat them again – even at your house. Sounds yummy.

  3. Dear Mosey,
    I’m here to steal your mom’s recipe because I have guests coming in a few minutes and realized I’m short a can of sloppy joe sauce. You’ve saved the day!

Leave a Reply

