Icebreaker #14 | If a genie gave you one wish (and you can’t wish for more wishes), what would you wish for?

This is the fourteenth installment of my Icebreaker series. Grab a tarnished lamp and a polishing cloth.

If a genie gave you one wish (and you can’t wish for more wishes), what would you wish for?

My wife, DeAnne, loves lists. She actually gets giddy when things can be categorized and checked off. She’s a fantastic organizer, which is perfect for me, because I am chaos incarnate. But when it comes to birthday lists, she can’t think of things that she wants. She’s probably too selfless to focus on such things.

She’s better than me. That’s all there is to it.

DSC02233Me, I can write list after list of stuff that I want. Books, Lego sets, CDs, video games, time to enjoy all of these things. Limiting my selfishness to one wish is hard.

Here’s what I have:

I wish I could go back in time to my childhood with all of the knowledge that I have now.

Here’s my reasoning:

  • For all of the things that have worked out wonderfully in my life thus far (being married to a wonderful wife, having beautiful kids, being successfully employed at a job I enjoy), I would be able to weather the storms of adolescence with the knowledge that things will be fine.
  • For the things that have not worked out wonderfully, if I retain my current knowledge, I would be able to make better choices without losing the opportunities to learn from my mistakes (since I still would have made them the first time around).
  • For the rest of it, school would be easier the second time through, I’m sure I would be a more obedient child since I know what it is like to have kids of my own, and I’d probably clean up in the stock market by investing early into Google.

What would you wish for?

3 responses to “Icebreaker #14 | If a genie gave you one wish (and you can’t wish for more wishes), what would you wish for?

  1. oh , gosh. Thinking stresses me! I like your wish! Maybe I’d go back to my first wedding, and start over. Of course, like you said, retaining my present knowledge. Yep, I think that would fix my whole life! (almost)

  2. Pingback: Enough to Break the Ice -or- 15 Answers to Icebreaker Questions | Josh Mosey | Writer·

  3. Pingback: Sanitation Engineer Hero | greyzr·

Leave a Reply

